fetch it!

digging for gold in a pile of trash

Kid A reissued and it didn’t ruin the original!

kida

Rarely do we see reissues add to or improve on the original recordings. It’s always fun to have an unreleased track or two but it usually takes away from the completeness of the original record. When it’s a great album I usually stop before the bonus track and prepare myself mentally to listen to the bonus track as a separate song from the album. I let the emotions and excitement of the album fall away so the bonus track doesn’t taint my connection to the original album, the way it was meant to be by the artist who created it.

But it looks like the producers who put Kid A together thought about all of that. They included a bonus disk, which is nice rather than adding new songs onto the same CD, helping me separate the new content from the original album. And instead of adding unreleased or alternate recordings, they added live recordings of their shows and TV appearances. The review of the album on Pitchfork.com captures the significance of the original recording and gives a nice overview of the reissue.

Read the Pitchfork review >>>

8 Comments»

  Will wrote @

Amazing album. Don’t know if listening to a reissue is really even worth the time. Glad you did it for me, though!

  jeffrosaurus wrote @

One of my favorite albums. It just works. I’ve been listening to it for years but I never knew it was released in 2000. It feels wise beyond its years

[…] the new Radiohead single “These Are My Twisted Word”. Its been over two years since Radiohead released “In Rainbows” The band being innovator has decided to release the song free. […]

  lou wrote @

wow a ten from those ungenerous mofos at pitchfork?! must be good then! (of course i don’t doubt radiohead, i just noticed that people who have good things to say about radiohead cannot help but spew out superlatives. they’re awesome!)

  humphery wrote @

This can be use as follow up,with the website name.

  Pedro Martínez Alhambra wrote @

In my opinion, the best album of Radiohead is “Ok cumputer”.

Saludos!

  Tony Brown wrote @

I don’t know If I said it already but …Hey good stuff…keep up the good work! 🙂 I read a lot of blogs on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say I’m glad I found your blog. Thanks,)

A definite great read..Tony Brown

  Radiohead – These Are My Twisted Word | PhotogMusic wrote @

[…] the new Radiohead single “These Are My Twisted Word”. Its been over two years since Radiohead released “In Rainbows” and a long time since Kid A. The band being innovator has […]


Leave a Reply

