fetch it!

digging for gold in a pile of trash

Archive for New Release

The Last Johnny Cash American Recordings!

image from Pitchfork.com

The final American Recordings album by Johnny Cash is set to be released on February 26th!

From Pitchfork.com:

Rick Rubin produced this volume, just as he did all the others. And once again, Cash covers a whole lot of other people’s songs. This one will include Cash’s versions of Sheryl Crow’s “Redemption Day”, Kris Kristofferson’s “For The Good Times”, Tom Paxton’s “Can’t Help But Wonder Where I’m Bound”, Bob Nolan’s “Cool Water”, Ed McCurdy’s “Last Night I Had the Strangest Dream”, J.H. “Red” Hayes and Jack Rhodes’s “Satisfied Mind”, and Hawaiian monarch Queen Lili’uokalani’s farewell song “Aloha Oe”. It’ll also include a new Cash original called “I Corinthians: 15:55”.

Read full article >>>
By the way, “I Corinthians 15:55” reads as follows:
Where, O death is your victory
Where, O death is your sting

That is going to be a powerful song, especially since he was recording this around the time of his wife’s death and he died very shortly after he finished recording this album.


Anticipated Indie Albums of 2010

Here’s a wonderful list put together by Stereogum.com of independent albums schedule to be released in 2010! If you’re into this music world, you will notice that this is shaping up to be quite an amazing year!

Read list >>>

Creative website for Spencer Krug’s new EP

Spencer Krug of Wolf Parade, Sunset Rubdown and Swan Lake is releasing an EP under the name Moonface. Check out the simple, yet creative, website where you can download the EP for a simple donation amount of your own choosing. Not only that, you can also read a journal of his dreams by clicking on stars that fill the browser window, and you can submit a dream of your own for the “Dream Forum” that’s coming soon.

Them Crooked Vultures album released

I’ve been curious about and looking forward to the release of the album by Them Crooked Vultures, a super-group of sorts made up of Josh Homme (Queens of the Stone Age), Dave Grohl (Foo Fighters), and John Paul Jones (Led Zeppelin). How can anyone who loves rock music not be excited about that? The album was released just a couple days ago. I got to listen to the entire album on YouTube last week (only select songs are available now) and I was pretty excited. Not that it sounded like anything brand new or innovative, but you could tell that three incredible musicians (with help from a QOTSA member) were just having a blast making hard hitting rock music.

I like the way that the Pitchfork reviewer summed up his feelings about it:
“One of the negative aspects of a supergroup is that the presence of multiple stars tends to disrupt the natural hierarchy of a band– meaning that there’s no one to shoot down bad or unnecessary ideas. If you’re Josh Homme and John Paul Jones or Dave Grohl wants to take a bass or drum solo, you let him. And Them Crooked Vultures often feels overstuffed with the weight of too many ideas.”

They may not have worried about the perfection of each song, but you can immediately tell that they’re having a good time. Maybe that’s what they wanted to do. Maybe they thought it would be fun to get together with some other talented musicians and record some heavy rockin’ songs. All of them have been at the cutting edge of their genre, pushing the limits of creativity. Maybe these guys just wanted to relax and write some fun songs and not worry about their artistic status. Just let these guys be regular rock musicians and I think you’ll really enjoy this record. It’s not the creative record of the year, but it may be one of your favorites.

New song from Them Crooked Vultures

From Pitchfork.com

After many teases, the triple-headed rock supergroup Them Crooked Vultures has finally, finally seen fit to let us hear a whole entire studio track. Dave Grohl, Josh Homme, and John Paul Jones have posted the song “New Fang” to their YouTube page.

Toy Story 3 Trailer!


Be sure to check out the Toy Story 3 trailer in the Fetched Videos to the right >>>

Shins front man James Mercer and Danger Mouse team up!


James Mercer, the front man for the Shins, is teaming up with producer Danger Mouse (Gorillaz, Danger Doom, Gnarls Barkley, Beck, etc)!!! Danger Mouse just “released” Dark Night of the Soul with Sparklehorse to critical acclaim, though the label has held it’s official release due to past legal issues with Danger Mouse. You should be able to stream it at NPR.org >>>

Anyway, they are teaming up for an album scheduled to be released early next year and they currently call themselves Broken Bells.

Read original article from Pitchfork >>>